Previous Pakistan wicketkeeper-batsman Rashid Latif reviewed an episode when the umpire’s misinterpretation cost Rahul Dravid his wicket in the first ODI of Sharjah Cup in 1996. Dravid was excused for a score of 3 when India required a major association in the run pursue of 272 having lost four wickets for 91.
Leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed showed signs of improvement of him with a conveyance welcoming him to drive. Dravid missed the ball and moved away from the wicket as the Pakistan players bid for got behind. The wicketkeeper Latif appeared to be certain and the umpire raised his finger. Dravid was noticeably baffled by the choice as he strolled back to the changing area with a large portion of his side down.
“They played against us in Sharjah. Rahul, unfortunately, was caught behind. Mushtaq Ahmed bowled a delivery and made a huge appeal. We appealed alongside him, he was given out. After the match, Dravid asked ‘was I out’, and I said ‘no, brother, Mushtaq tang karta hai bohot (It’s Musthaq’s habit to appeal),” Latif said in a YouTube show ‘Caught Behind’.